Celiac Disease Health Center

It is important for individuals with celiac disease to be aware of what they are eating.

Gluten-free foods include:

  • amaranth,
  • arrowroot,
  • buckwheat,
  • cassava,
  • corn,
  • flax,
  • Indian rice grass,
  • Job's tears,
  • legumes,
  • millet,
  • nuts,
  • potatoes,
  • quinoa,
  • rice,
  • sago seeds,
  • soy,
  • sorghum,
  • tapioca,
  • wild rice, and
  • yucca

Types of wheat that contain gluten are:

  • einkorn
  • emmer
  • spelt
  • kamut
  • wheat starch
  • wheat bran
  • wheat germ
  • cracked wheat, hydrolyzed wheat protein

Other foods containing gluten include:

  • barley
  • rye
  • triticale
  • bromated flour
  • durum flour
  • enriched flour
  • farina
  • plain flour
  • self-risng flour
  • white flour
  • semolina

It is possible for individuals to live a happy, healthy life with celiac disease as long as they are careful about their diet.

Rate This Article

3.42564
Review Date: 
June 13, 2012
Last Updated:
June 30, 2013
Source:
dailyrx.com